September 2017 book haul

My September has been rather busy, truth be told. We have some big deadlines coming up at work, which has left me and my colleagues working later into the evening more days than I’d care to count.

Thankfully, this hasn’t had much of an impact on my reading (which I mostly due while commuting), nor on my book-buying habits (can I blame my ever-growing TBR on work-related stress? no?), but it has meant that I’ve had a lot less time to blog than I would have liked. Compared to August, when I posted seven times, this month I’ve only managed four, including this little one. I’ve written two reviews – one on Carys Davies’ Some New Ambush, and the other on Exit West by Mohsin Hamid – and posted another, on Mahsuda Snaith’s The Things We Thought We Knew, which I had written and scheduled way back in August.

Yet, as I’ve said, in spite of my busy schedule I’ve managed to make plenty of time to acquire new books. I ordered two from work using my company discount, including Lauren Elkin’s Flâneuse, which was on my list of anticipated reads for the second half of the year. Also through my work, I was  able my hands on two more titles from the Penguin Modern Poets series. After reading volume three, Your Family Your Body, I’ve been hoping to pick up a few more from the collection, if for no other reason than to create a rainbow on my bookshelf with the series’ gorgeous jackets.

IMG_4755A less expected, but still welcome, find was William Sutcliffe’s We See Everything, which I spotted below the whiteboard of my local Tube station. I don’t typically make a habit of picking up random objects on my commute, but this had been placed there by Books on the Underground, a brilliant collective dedicated to finding and sharing literature around London’s transport network. The concept is simple: find a book, read it, and return it to the Underground for someone else to find. While I don’t typically read YA, I think I’ll make an exception in this instance since I’ve been looking out for a BotU book ever since I moved here two years ago.

On the rare occasion I’ve not been at work (or commuting), I still managed to squeeze in a few bookshop visits. I picked up a copy of Hag-seed, Margaret Atwood’s interpretation of The Tempest, while visiting the branch of WHSmith where I used to work up north, and back in London I bought The Angry Chef, a non-fiction book critiquing the so-called “clean eating” industry, from Rye Books in Dulwich, South London. Lastly, after reading and reviewing Some New Ambush, I ordered Carys Davies’ second short story collection, The Redemption of Galen Pike from Salt as part of their #justonebook campaign.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Back to work.

New additions to The Bookshelf:

Hag-seed – Margaret Atwood
If I’m Scared We Can’t Win (Penguin Modern Poets One)* – Emily Berry, Anne Carson, and Sophie Collins
The Redemption of Galen Pike – Carys Davies
Flâneuse: Women Walk the City in Paris, New York, Tokyo, Venice, and London*– Lauren Elkin
Fen*– Daisy Johnson
Occasional Wild Parties (Penguin Modern Poets Five)* – Sam Riviere, Frederick Seidel, and Kathryn Maris
We See Everything – William Sutcliffe
The Angry Chef: Bad Science and the Truth About Healthy Eating – Anthony Warner

2 thoughts on “September 2017 book haul

Leave a Reply

