August 2017 book haul

Remember when I said I didn’t intend to post a haul this month? That I would try to read through my TBR before going out and buying another huge stack of books?

Best laid plans, and all of that.

I shouldn’t have announced that intention because as soon as I did (and before July had even ended), temptation – in the form of a visit to Foyles for the announcement of the Arthur C. Clarke Awards – led me astray. Two of the shortlisted books were on my to-be-bought TBR; how could I not pick them up?

That was not my finest moment, I’ll admit. However, these were the only purchases I made. The rest of the books were free. Most I picked up from work, where there were an unusually high amount of appealing books to tempt me, including some – like Bernadine Evaristo’s Mr Loverman and Mohsin Hamid’s Man-Booker-longlisted Exit West – that I have been meaning to read for quite a while.

IMG_4528.2
My edition of The Handmaid’s Tale, along with some of my other favourite covers from this month’s haul

I also entered and won a mini giveaway at work for a copy of the new edition of The Handmaid’s Tale. I’m not usually one for TV tie-in covers, but I think this one looks brilliant. Offred/June’s defiant stare is just so arresting – it completely works with the drive of the novel. I first read the book back in sixth form, and I’m inclined to give it a reread before the end of the year.

Finally, indie UK publisher Dodo Ink kindly sent me a review copy of their new short novel, The Tryst by Monique Roffey. Not my usual read, but certainly absorbing nevertheless: my review can be found here.

New additions to The Bookshelf:

The Handmaid’s Tale* – Margaret Atwood
A Closed and Common Orbit – Becky Chambers
Whatever Happened to Interracial Love?* – Kathleen Collins
Some New Ambush* – Carys Davies (review)
Mr Loverman* – Bernadine Evaristo
Exit West* – Mohsin Hamid (review)
The Tryst – Monique Roffey (review)
The Underground Railroad – Colson Whitehead

IMG_4536.2

4 thoughts on “August 2017 book haul

    1. Mine too…
      Seriously, my flat has a small fitted corner bookcase which I’ve already filled up. I’ve started to stack books sideways to make more room, and after that I’ll have to start double-stacking. I also have my TBR books stacked up on the mantelpiece, where they can demand my attention whenever I feel like buying more books before finishing them off…

      Like

Leave a Reply

