June 2017 book haul

It’s been a rather cheap month, TBR-wise. My shelf has gained four new books, but I only had to pay for one of them.

At the start of June, I stopped by The Riverside Bookshop on London’s South Bank and picked up a copy of Eli Goldstone’s Strange Heart Beating. I had been eyeing up the book for a while, partly because of the premise (woman named Leda is killed by a swan? Oh hello, first-year poetry module of my English degree) and partly because it’s published by Granta, whose titles are generally various shades of wonderful.

Through my work, I received a free copy of George Lamming’s In the Castle of My Skin, a coming-of-age novel about a boy growing up in a Barbadian village. I then received a short story collection by Colm Tóibín from Caboodle, the National Book Tokens website. If you use Book Tokens, I strongly recommend you sign up to the website – if you spend over £30 on books in a single month, you receive 10% credit back, and if you register £75 to your account (as I did, over the course of about two years), you receive a free book.

Finally, last weekend I took a trip up home to visit my parents, and while I was there I found a copy of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time that had been sitting on my old bookshelf for years. Having recently read (and absolutely loved) Mark Haddon’s The Pier Falls, I thought it was time I finally got around to read the book he’s so well-known for.

Okay, in fairness, The Curious Incident... was not, technically, free. But so much time has passed between me buying the book and me picking it up at last, it doesn’t really count, right?IMG_3612.2

New additions to The Bookshelf:

Strange Heart Beating – Eli Goldstone
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time – Mark Haddon
In the Castle of My Skin* – George Lamming (review)
The Empty Family – Colm Tóibín

 

3 thoughts on “June 2017 book haul

    1. After all the hype around the film, I would like to pick up Brooklyn one day – perhaps reading The Empty Family will encourage me 🙂 I’ve now finished Strange Heart Beating, and I must say, it wasn’t quite what I expected. The blurb described it as ‘darkly funny’, but I didn’t really find much humour in it – just a lot of quiet misery in a Latvian forest!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will warn you that Brooklyn the book is pretty different from Brooklyn the movies. The movie is much more romantic and sweet. I find humor to be a very subjective thing. I haven’t read it but I hope to sometime soon.

        Like

Leave a Reply

