May 2017 book haul

My bookshop visits usually fall under one of two categories. The first is The Browse, when I’ll wander around picking up a dozen or so books, make a note of any titles I’m interested in, before (usually) leaving empty-handed. This might happen over and over again, as I decide which ones I really want to buy. Eventually, I’ll cave, and I’ll embark on the second category of visit: The Splurge.

To be clear, I don’t spend my entire bank balance and leave with armfuls of new reads. Even when I’m treating myself, I try not to go overboard, and this month is no exception. My most recent visit to Waterstones only resulted in me buying four new books, all of which I’ve been considering for at least a few months. May_book_haul

In addition to these new purchases, I acquired two other titles this month. One I received free from the publishing house I work for (see disclaimer); the other was a Kickstarter perk in support of indie publisher Influx Press.

New additions to The Bookshelf:

Stay With Me – Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀
Stories of Your Life and OthersTed Chiang
The Lonely City – Olivia Laing
The Dark CircleLinda Grant (review)
Attrib. and Other Stories – Eley Williams (review)
A Rising Man* – Abir Mukherjee (review)

While I’d love to say that these will keep me going for a while, I’m already over halfway through them. I’ll be needing something else to read before too long, so if you have any recommendations, please let me know in the comments.

3 thoughts on “May 2017 book haul

  1. I had a nice little splurge this month, too! I highly recommend The Roses of May by Dot Hutchinson–or The Butterfly Garden, if you haven’t read her first book yet. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, thanks for the recommendation! I’ve not heard of her, but just had a quick Google – is she a crime writer? After reading a Rising Man I may pick up some more crime fiction, I really enjoyed it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She is! I’m very particular about the crime books I read, but I’ve really enjoyed hers. The second in the series has mixed reviews but The Butterfly Garden is much loved. It’s definitely really intense though, so I wouldn’t recommend it for folks who don’t do well with books that have abuse, assault, etc.

        Like

Leave a Reply

